Ontario Liberals Name Former Cabinet Minister as Party President

The Ontario Liberal Party has named Kathryn McGarry as its new president.

McGarry, a former Ontario Liberal cabinet minister and Mayor of Cambridge, was named president at the party’s annual general meeting in Hamilton on Sunday.

McGarry served as Minister of Natural Resources and Minister of Transportation under the Kathleen Wynne government, but lost her seat in 2018. She then served one term as Mayor of Cambridge, losing in last year’s municipal election.

On Saturday, delegates voted to forgo delegated conventions in favour of a form of direct voting for their next leader, as the party looks to recover from two consecutive electoral disasters.

A date for a leadership vote, and the rules surrounding it, have not yet been decided.


No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.